Testimonials & Reviews

We're delighted to quote a few of the reviews and testimonials from recent guests. Please also visit our TripAdvisor page to see for yourselves. Alternatively see our Press Coverage.

Peaceful and Luxurious

From the moment the taxi driver provided cool towels and water then phoned ahead with our drinks order from the airport I knew we would be well looked after.

I was amazed by the quality and design of the bedrooms which have been furnished to evoke a feeling of travel from a different era - where else would you find a hotel with a hatstand? A four poster bed, writing desk and a stack of suitcases holding a mirror all contributed to the atmosphere. Yet the room was modern and the bathroom seemed new.

The staff were so friendly and helpful - in fact everyone I met on the island was like that.

Neilclif Link 28 May 2017

Perfect Caribbean destination for total relaxation

Staying end of April early May it was off season but still a great time to visit. The hotel was very quiet and far from full but this probably meant we got even better service and personalised attention. We could not find one single thing to fault and we tried! Marvellous staff, location, room, food, gardens, bird life, beach, sea and views. What is not to like. Would definitely return...
The hotel owner, manager and chef were charming and you are made to feel that you are amongst friends.

winsoc1953 Link 13 May 2017

A perfect spot in paradise

We have just celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary in this hotel. It was our first trip to the Caribbean, everyone told us we had picked the best spot on our first trip. So there is nothing for it, we will have to come back. The restaurant overlooks the bay, it is hard to tear ones self away. We luckily arrived for the last week of the lobster season & indulged oursleves 6 times in the week. The restaurant were always happy to prepare it of us even if it wasn't on the menu.

The pool is great (there is a 2nd smaller one up the hill), the gardens lovely, the rooms large & comfortable, the staff delightful, friendly and obliging even if they are on caribbean time - it took me 6 hours to adjust, my husband 2 days and then we were really on holidays!
Christine F Link 03 May 2017

Stunning - the Caribbean as it used to be

This was my wife's first return to Bequia in nearly 30 years and my first ever visit to the Caribbean. Before our holiday I was half expecting Bequia to be typically touristy, but I couldn't have been more wrong, Bequia is a true step back in time and, as I was told on numerous occasions, even by visitors from other islands, this is the Caribbean as it used to be.

Bequia is small, safe, extremely friendly and totally unspoilt. It has fabulous beaches, turquoise seas, characterful local restaurants and the people are charming, friendly and so welcoming.

The Bequia Beach Hotel is situated on Friendship Beach, a totally unspoilt beach where you can find locals chatting under the trees and also look out to Mustique, the island of the rich and famous, which is 8 miles offshore.

Within the grounds hotel there are a number of different buildings, each with different accommodation types to suit all tastes. We had a beachfront suite, which looked out on to Friendship Bay and the island of Mustique, which was beautiful. There is nothing like watching the sun come up whilst having an early morning coffee and listening to the ocean roll in on to the beach.
...
If you want a Sandals type holiday then Bequia is not the place for you. If you want unspoilt rustic Caribbean where visitors mix with locals then there is no better place to be. Will we be back? ....... most definitely, we've already started planning to go back year.
Neil K Link 01 May 2017

Excellent!

Love the decor (not tacky at all), the staff, food, cleanliness and attentiveness (but not overly). Was peaceful and serene. Beautiful location on a beautiful and unspoiled island. Very safe! Perfect weather! 

They kept our room immaculate! We had a very nice housekeeper, named Donna. She even kept our ice and complimentary water well stocked! Love that the island is not overburdened with tourists. We get to enjoy the locals and their culture. We rented a small Moke for getting around town. We will most definitely return!
Nif58 Link 30 Apr 2017

Tranquil gem

Highest recommendations from me for this idylic Hotel. Unhurried, tranquil and totally relaxing establishment. Lovely pool and gardens. Rooms are well decorated, spacious and luxurious. Dining is by way of the two restaurants on site, there are no other local venues in the area so some people may find this to be restrictive. 
The main town is a short taxi ride away with it's abundance of restaurants, and local shops. Many worthy of seeking out. All in all certainly a hotel worthy of a fine stay.
dexter b Link 20 Apr 2017

Honeymoon Heaven

Stunning location, beautiful beach, lovely staff, fab spa, delicious lobster night - very happy. We loved it from start to finish. Island very low key and relaxed compared to some of the other Caribbean islands. 

A real lesser known gem within the Windward Islands.Spa was fantastic - Monique with her healing hands and Suementa with her manis and pedis.Rooms gorgeous and two pools very clean with fresh towels always to hand.BBQ night was made extra special with the personality of Clinton. The barmen Kong, Steve and Brenton were great too.
catstirling Link 12 Mar 2017

The Perfect Beach Vacation

Perfect" is a high bar and both Bequia and the Bequia Beach Hotel clear it with ease.
The weather was perfect every day for 11 days. 80s, sunny, nice breeze. I was never hot or cold. The water is a similar temperature. The island is naturally beautiful, not manicured. There is nothing fussy about Bequia or the BBH. Lots of hills, sloping gently into gorgeous sandy beaches. The water is every color of beautiful blues and came on shore in fun-to-watch waves. BBH is on Friendship Bay, which is good for swimming and crescent-shapped, about 6/10s of a mile long.
...
On the resort itself... the staff is terrific. From the managers, Chris and Cecelia, to the waitresses to the house-keepers -- everyone was friendly and helpful. We ate the majority of our meals at the resort
BarbKnowles Link 21 Feb 2017

Beautiful island, wonderful hotel!

We have just returned from our first visit to Bequia and were thrilled to discover this unspoilt and peaceful island. The Bequia Beach Hotel is the perfect place to stay if you want to soak up the relaxing atmosphere and natural beauty of the place. Our very comfortable beachfront suite had uninterrupted views across the sea to Mustique, and the large balcony was great for morning coffee or a private early evening drink.
...
We have stayed at several hotels in the Caribbean and the food at Bequia Beach Hotel is amongst the best we have eaten in this part of the world. The food was imaginative and refreshingly light. The menu is small but changes quite frequently. The floodlit view of the waves from the beachfront restaurant at night resembled a ‘son et lumiere’.

We were surprised, therefore, to read some of the negative comments about the hotel from recent guests, and do not agree with the criticism, which seems to be unfairly judging the Bequia Beach Hotel against the standards and ‘glitz’ of nearby Barbados. Bequia is a place to unwind and recharge the batteries, and to enjoy fabulous scenery – with no crowds. We thought the hotel had captured this atmosphere perfectly and we are already planning our return visit next winter.
ecm397 Link 17 Feb 2017

The place just gets better

OK, so this is our third 2 week stay at this hotel and you might think, with two previous reviews there was nothing more to write about. Well there is! If ever there was a resort constantly improving on itself it is this one.
Craven Link 13 Jan 2017

One word : Details !

This place is just amazing! Staff / Rooms / Location / Food

Bequia Beach Hotel is the place to stay in Bequia,
I love the details at the rooms, there are just perfect. The place have an amazing vibe. My weekends are always fabulous when i stay in this hotel. The Staff is very friendly, the spa services are just great. I highly recommend this location for family trips / couples.
Maria G Link 09 Jan 2017

Fantastic resort! We were treated like royalty!

Some friends and I came to this resort for just 2 days, and we had a fantastic time. The service was impeccable. They did everything they could to make sure we had a fantastic time. We were greeted at the entrance with ice cold rum punch! And when a local had mentioned to us that the island had a great pizza place, we asked an employee, and they sent a driver to the pizza place to pick it up for us!

The restaurant food was great. The rooms were stunning, as well as the view!
Johnny L Link 30 Nov 2016

What a week!

We stayed at the Bequia Beach Hotel for a week at the beginning of November to celebrate a friend's 30th birthday. It could not have been better!

Bequia Beach Hotel is perfect - the beach is stunning, the rooms are beautiful, the staff are fabulous and the food is incredible.

Jack's Bar on the completely unspoiled Princess Margaret's Bay is definitely one to watch - it was in the final stages of construction when we were there and will be the go to place for the island once it re-opens. Definitely one for watching the sun going down.

Bequia is everything the Caribbean should be - full of charm, personality and life!
ShepherdsB Link 21 Nov 2016

Excellent stay in a wonderful hotel

We spent 2 nights in this hotel which was one of our best experiences in the Caribbean. The hotel is beautiful, conveniently located in the middle of a very nice botanic garden. Our room was spacious and well equipped, with huge bathroom. They call it garden view, but in fact you can also see the Ocean and it's just wonderful. The staff was very efficient, helpful and friendly. There is a real quality of service which is not provided in every hotel. The beach restaurant is perfect for a romantic dinner at the sea. We would definitely recommend the hotel and Bequia island as well. It's a real island of paradise.
fremontorsolya Link 17 Aug 2016

I'm totally in love!

First of all, Bequia - the most beautiful and genuine Island that ever crossed my path. The green nature framed with crystal clear waters - impossible not get amazing photos! (Go hiking for amazing views from the top of Mt. Peggy!)
The hotel is located on Friendship Bay, very calm and relaxing. We stayed in one of the Beach Front Suites, and I can't decide whether I was more amazed about the hand-picked interior or the view outside...
The hotel also has two lovely restaurants; Blue Tropic became my favourite! Super Italian food!
Beside the beautiful location and luxury room, the staff made our stay the best holiday ever! Everyone was so kind, service-minded and always smiling. Also the owner gives the hotel a very warm personal touch by mingling around making sure everyones’ having a great stay.
Highly recommend this hotel for both couples and family's.

Ps. A must do is to treat your body with a world class massage at the spa. Ask for Monique!
ElinorAlm Link 19 Jan 2016

A jewel in the Caribbean

I have stayed in reallly nice hotels around the world – Hawaii, Asia and the Caribbean, but find it difficult to think of anywhere that tops the Bequia Beach Hotel.

The more I come to Bequia, the more I love it and this hotel was the reason I fell even harder this time. It’s located on Friendship Bay, a perfect beach – mostly vacant, save for a few fishermen’s boats at one end and a couple of people selling beers and refreshments under palm trees the other. You can wander for a stroll up at any time with the waves crashing over your feet, and for me there is nowhere like it on earth.

The hotel itself is really special. It has just the right touches. I don’t ask for a lot, but there is nothing the staff can’t help you with – from sunloungers, umbrellas and towels, to delivering rum punches around the main pool, a hands off touch, but attentive – just right.

Food is spectacular. The chefs really know how to serve fresh fish, salads, club sandwiches and put on lobster fests and all you can eat bbqs, which are fantastic, and good value too. The location of the restaurants is fantastic, overlooking the ocean and Mustique. Dining there for breakfast, lunch and dinner is idyllic.

What more can I say? I could go on forever, but there is no need – come see for yourself. I guarantee you won’t be disappointed.
Caroline B Link 27 Jan 2015

Excellent

I don’t think we could have found a better place to come and relax. The place is fantastic. if you want great international food, a good length pool, beautiful beach, friendly, helpful staff, occasional live music entertainment, a library and water sports facilities all in one place this is the place. It is unrivalled on Bequia.

The furniture is comfortable and a different class. There’s lots of space and different atmospheres from beach chairs to a quite fan cooled library. The masseur in the spa is first class and gym seems to have everything you’d need.

They hosted a fascinating charity evening with British writer Hunter Davies OBE (Beatles biographer) that even the former Prime Minister of SVG came to.
McLovinTravel Link 22 Jan 2015

Best place to stay on Bequia

We have just returned from 7 nights here and I have to give it 5 stars in every respect. Location fantastic, looking towards Mustique. Beautiful beach, with nice small waves and trade winds (used the windsurfer from the water sports centre). Lovely room with almost private plunge pool. Superb food at Bagatelle restaurant. Really friendly, courteous and knowledgable staff.
Freeryda Link 11 Jan 2015

A very special place indeed!

I find it difficult to write this review without sounding like I have shares in this hotel !
From the moment we stepped inside the elegant reception hall, until the day we reluctantly left, we were made to feel, not just like guests, but more like members of an exclusive club.
Each and every member of staff bent backwards to make sure our holiday was comfortable , with little personal touches to ensure we felt truly special and welcome.

Finally, a thank you to Mr. Bengt Mortstedt and all members of his outstanding management team
for realising the dream , of providing a perfect balance between luxury and good old fashioned hospitality with a chic, no news and shoes if you wish, feel.
We shall definitely return.
Lizzie_reed Link 16 Dec 2014

A little touch of paradise

Absolutely fell in love with this hotel and Bequia. We stayed here for 14 nights in a pool / sea view room number 1 which for an entry level room was fantastic. I was shown around all the other rooms and apart from the 4 bed villa which was out of this world I actually preferred our room.

The room was kept spotlessly clean (thank you very much Aggie we miss you) and was absolutely lovely with molten brown toiletries what more could you ask for.

The staff were really lovely everyone in the restaurant, poolside and housekeeping. Bequia itself is an unspoilt Caribbean gem, really pretty and charming.

Bengt and his team have a hotel to be proud of here and it is definitely a place we would consider returning to can’t recommend it highly enough.
Satisfied1 Link 04 Dec 2014

A great place to chill out

Stayed here for 8 nights in early November. This was our second visit to the hotel. As it was early in the season the hotel was relatively quiet, which was perfect for us. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the location is superb and the rooms are furnished to a very high standard.

This hotel is a perfect place to relax and recharge your batteries. We will certainly try to make a third visit.
SalBUKSouth Link 22 Nov 2014

A great place to relax in luxury

We stayed here for a fabulous 2 weeks in May 2014 and being at the end of the season often had the resort to ourselves which was wonderfully peaceful. The staff really made our stay and we got to know them all quite well
GeordieLass6 Link 02 Sep 2014

Relaxed

This hotel surpassed all our expectations and for 2 weeks we were able to completely switch off and really enjoy our time there. The quality of all the food served in the Bagatelle Restaurant was impressive

The Bequia Beach Hotel is a very unique & relatively new boutique hotel built and run by Bengt Mortstedt who had a dream to create a high quality hotel with spacious grounds and where each room is spacious and individually appointed and to that end he has succeeded.
The friendliness, quality of service and the attention to detail by all the staff in the hotel was exceptional all of which made for a truly memorable experience – so much so that this is one hotel we would definitely recommend and be returning to.
nick247 Link 30 Jun 2014

Elegant, intimate getaway

We spent a week at the Bequia Beach Hotel at the beginning of May and enjoyed a most relaxing, peaceful vacation.

The hotel is spread out over a beautiful garden with a variety of rooms. We stayed in a ‘beachfront room’ on the ground floor that lead out directly on to the beach with the sound of the waves breaking at night. I’d highly recommend.
AnnaLouise88 Link 03 Jun 2014

Superb

From the moment we stepped off the ferry from St Vincent, Bequia charmed us and the hotel & its staff were so welcoming. Hot & dusty we were met with cold towels & a complimentary drink. We spent 3 nights here, and it was just perfect.

The staff were extremely pleasant and exceptionally attentive. We were there during a quiet period, but we never had to look for a towel, lounger cushions or a drink, there was always someone anticipating our needs.
Caroline F Link 24 May 2014

wow

So relaxing with the great views. The staff was so nice and everything was so clean ! going to come back again ! One of the best and I mean the best hotel in the grenadines.

It was so calm after the busy of everywhere else. we stayed on the ocean front room with beach views and crashing waves at night. No noise including No barking dogs. The breakfast was fresh and the other meals where nice. overall great place to stay on our holiday .
Nicole123p Link 14 May 2014

Best hotel on our stay in the Grenadines

We stayed for 3 nights at the Bequia Beach Hotel and everything was just perfect. We got upgraded to a garden villa and it was the nicest place we stayed at. This hotel was part of our combo while touring/sailing around the Grenadines, so we didn’t chose it deliberately.

Service is just perfect. We had the chance to be there on a Wednesday as this is BBQ-evening and a live band is playing reggae and socca. Just great!
FancyBee Link 10 May 2014

Didn’t want to leave

Unspoiled, laid back, quiet, beautiful, private, secure, comfortable, clean, inviting. These words all describe Bequia Beach Hotel. I've stayed in hotels all over the Caribbean and this is one of the nicest of them.

It truly felt like the Caribbean of long ago. No traffic or noise, no beach vendors. Just clean air, clean beaches and a sense of relaxation.

By our fourth day, I felt the tension and stress melt away and I knew we had to extend our vacation here. So we added a couple more days to our stay and we didn't regret it one iota.
Peter S Link 22 Apr 2014

Best Equipped hotel we’ve stayed at in Caribbean

The Bequia Beach Hotel is undoubtedly the best equipped hotel we've stayed at in 18 years holidaying in the Caribbean. The furniture is of good quality, plenty of storage space, comfortable bed, and immaculately clean and well maintained. Good air conditioning, large bathroom.

We took a room in the middle overlooking the very well maintained garden and main pool and it was excellent, with its own little veranda for sitting out in the shade. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful.
Graham P Link 07 Apr 2014

Lovely play to spend Valentines Day!

Recently spent a week at this resort. We received a very warm welcome which included a lovely rum punch and were personally shown to our amazing room. It overlooked the beautiful gardens and the ocean and our veranda became one of my favourite places to sit. We thoroughly enjoyed meals at both the Bagatelle and the Blue Tropic restaurants on site.
JuJD Link 26 Feb 2014

Best place to stay in Bequia

This was our first visit to the Caribbean for a very long while, we were looking for winter sun in a relaxed atmosphere with no hassle and we found it at this wonderful hotel on this lovely small island in St Vincent and the Grenadines.
Roger S Link 14 Feb 2014

Superb

Overall we were very impressed with the standard and general quality of this hotel. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming with nothing too much trouble.
BazWestYorkshire_UK Link 03 Feb 2014

An hotel of exceptional quality

This hotel is our first experience of Bequia, and it surpassed our expectations. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location, yet it has been cleverly integrated to blend into the landscape.

The owner, management and staff ensure their guests are their priority, and standards are exceptional. The staff are knowledgeable and ready to help. We cannot fault the staff, accommodation, cleanliness, facilities and food.

The restaurant provides a very high standard of food. The whole stay was a wonderful experience, and we can recommend without hesitation. The little touches mean a great deal, and ensure the guest feels appreciated.
gillmar Link 28 Jan 2014

First Class! We shall return

My wife and I vacation often in the Caribbean, without doubt the Island of Bequia is our favourite. We recently reserved a suite for a fortnight in the Bequia Beach Hotel.

This fine hotel is beautifully furnished and equipped thought. The property has two pools, a fitness centre and an excellent restaurant where first class cuisine is served.

Should you be planning a Caribbean vacation do reside in the Bequia Beach Hotel. I believe that you will enjoy your stay and very likely return in the future.
William S Link 22 Dec 2013

Bequia Beach Hotel, Bequia

Bequia is the most relaxing Caribbean Island I've been to. It's a proper working island but it’s also small and tourist-friendly. The Bequia Beach Hotel is the perfect place to stay.

It stretches back off a stunning beach, up a lush hillside with beautiful gardens. The interiors are laid out with immaculate finesse and the decor has a quirky retro feel. The ideal place to chill.
dixonc Link 22 Dec 2013

Beautiful Bequia & Exquisite Bequia Beach Hotel

Bequia has been on my 'to do list' for a a few years and was I not disappointed. Bequia is a precious pearl in the jewels that form the beautiful Grendadine Islands.

I too fell in love with the Island, the people and the Hotel, so much so, that I am already booked to return for the Bequia Music Festival in January next year, part of which the Hotel is hosting. I felt so safe on the Island and so very at home at the Hotel, that I will be travelling on my own next time.

I know I will be beautifully looked after and I am looking forward to returning… as a friend.
Anna T Link 13 Dec 2013